Not sure which keyboard to choose? Try the Keyboard Finder now!

Head to head · Prices checked Nov 7, 2026

Durgod S230 vs Keychron K3 MaxHot-Swap vs Rapid Trigger

Choose the Keychron K3 Max for deep customization and productivity, or the Durgod S230 for a compact, gaming-focused layout with a larger battery.

KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.

Quick verdict

Which one should you get?

Get the

Durgod S230

Hot-Swap

Build quality in the bottom 10% of 65% boards under $150.

If you want

  • Includes a rapid trigger feature for gaming responsiveness.
  • Compact 65% layout saves considerable desk space.
  • Larger 2000mAh battery capacity for extended wireless use.

Rules this board out

  • Switches are soldered. Swapping them means soldering.
  • Low-profile switches and keycaps only. Standard MX keycaps will not fit.
  • No ISO layout. ISO-DE, UK, and other ISO variants are not offered.
  • 65% layout. No function row and no numpad.

Get the

Keychron K3 Max

Rapid Trigger

Build quality in the top 5% of 75% boards under $100.

If you want

  • Hot-swappable sockets (on select versions) allow easy switch changes.
  • Full programmability via open-source QMK and VIA firmware.
  • 75% layout includes function row and multimedia keys for productivity.

Rules this board out

  • Low-profile switches and keycaps only. Standard MX keycaps will not fit.
  • North-facing LEDs. Cherry-profile keycaps can hit the switch housing.
  • No numpad.

Bottom line

For most users seeking a customizable, do-it-all low-profile keyboard, the Keychron K3 Max is the clear recommendation. Its hot-swap capability, QMK/VIA support, and practical 75% layout offer long-term value and adaptability. Only choose the Durgod S230 if your priority is the most compact wireless form factor with a specific gaming feature like rapid trigger, and you are willing to forgo extensive customization.

What actually differs

The differences that matter

Skip the 40-row spec sheet. These are the specs that change how each board feels, sounds, and fits your desk.

Durgod S230

Keychron K3 Max

  • Layout size

    65%

    75%

  • Rapid trigger

    Yes

    No

    Faster resets help in games and not in normal typing

  • Connection

    Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz

    Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired

    Wireless for several devices and wired for lower latency

  • Hot-swappable

    No

    Yes

    Switch changes without soldering

  • Battery

    2,000 mAh

    1,550 mAh

    A larger battery means fewer cables during the day

KeebFinder scores

How we score
  • Durgod S230
  • Keychron K3 Max
Performance
40
81
Build quality
41
86
Productivity
41
94
Customizability
40
91
Portability
83
77

What they share

  • Low profile
See every spec side by side

Best for

What will you mostly use it for?

The Keychron K3 Max is the more versatile choice, winning in office use, programming, modding, and content creation due to its customizable firmware, hot-swap capability, and more complete layout. The Durgod S230 takes the lead for dedicated gaming, thanks to its rapid trigger feature, and for travel due to its more compact 65% footprint and protective design. Your primary task will dictate the winner.

For gaming

Pick the Durgod S230

  • The Durgod S230 includes a rapid trigger feature, which is listed as a specific gaming function.
  • Its 65% layout frees up more desk space for mouse movement.
  • It has a larger 2000mAh battery for longer untethered play sessions.

Full specs

Durgod S230 vs Keychron K3 Max specs

Every tracked spec, side by side. Rows marked with a dot differ between the boards.

18 of 28 specs differ

Durgod S230

Keychron K3 Max

Typing & switches

Switch options

—
Clicky, Linear, Tactile

Rapid trigger

Yes
No

Hot-swappable

No
Yes

Mount style

—
Plate Mount

Low profile

Yes
Yes

Sound dampening

No
Yes

Screw-in stabilizers

No
Yes

Layout

Layout size

65%
75%

Layout standard

ANSI
ANSI, ISO, ISO-DE, ISO-Nordic, ISO-SW, ISO-UK

Ergonomics

Standard
Standard

Display

None
None

Media keys

No
Yes

Connectivity & battery

Connection

Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz
Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired

Max polling rate

—
1,000 Hz

Battery

2,000 mAhBetter
1,550 mAh

USB-C

Yes
Yes

Build & materials

Case material

Aluminum
ABS, Aluminum, Plastic, Wood

Plate material

—
Aluminum, Plastic, Polycarbonate

Keycaps

ABS
ABS, PBT

Weight

740 g
580 g

Dimensions

30 x 132 x 337 mm
22 x 306 x 116 mm

Typing angle

—
3°, 7°

Backlight

None
RGB, north-facing

Firmware & software

QMK

No
Yes

VIA

No
Yes

N-key rollover

No
Yes

Mac & Windows

No
Yes

Extras

Released

2023
2023

For EU buyers

ISO layouts by store

Which stores sell ISO-DE, UK, and the other regional layouts.

Durgod S230

No ISO layout at the stores we track.

Keychron K3 Max

  • Input Gear

    ISO-DE

    Out of stockShips to you

  • Keychron

    ISO-DE, ISO-UK, ISO-Nordic, ISO-SW

    Out of stockShips to you

  • Keychron (DE)

    ISO-DE, ISO-UK, ISO-SW

    In stockDoes not ship to you

Where to buy

Compare prices

Live prices from the stores we track, cheapest in-stock offer first.

Prices in USD are converted to your currency and can change at any time. KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.

Lowest price across stores, Amazon excluded.

Durgod S2302 stores

FAQ

Durgod S230 vs Keychron K3 Max: your questions

Based on the specifications, the Durgod S230 has a larger 2000mAh battery compared to the Keychron K3 Max's 1550mAh battery. The Durgod vendor page claims this provides up to 90 days of battery life, suggesting it will last longer between charges under similar usage conditions.

No. The Durgod S230 is listed as a pre-built keyboard and does not have hot-swappable sockets mentioned in its specifications or description. Switch replacement would likely require soldering.

Yes. The Keychron K3 Max vendor description explicitly states it offers Mac layout compatibility while remaining compatible with Windows. It includes keycaps for both operating systems and allows configuration of different keymaps for each.

Rapid trigger is listed as an extra feature for the Durgod S230. It is a gaming-oriented function that allows for faster key actuation by resetting the keystroke trigger point more quickly, which can be beneficial in fast-paced competitive games.

The Durgod S230 is likely more portable due to its 65% layout, which is smaller than the 75% layout of the Keychron K3 Max. Furthermore, the Durgod's vendor description highlights a silicone air cushion design intended to protect the keyboard from pressure, which is a claimed benefit for transport.

Yes. The Keychron K3 Max specifications list RGB support, including north-face RGB. The vendor description details per-key RGB and mix RGB lighting controls that can be customized via the Keychron Launcher web app.

The Durgod S230 uses ABS keycaps described as 'cube shaped chocolate' low-profile keycaps. The Keychron K3 Max uses low-profile double-shot PBT keycaps, which are generally more resistant to oil and shine over time compared to ABS.

Yes, extensively. The Keychron K3 Max supports QMK and VIA firmware. According to the vendor, this allows for key remapping, macro creation, and shortcuts through the Keychron Launcher web app without needing installed software.

The Keychron K3 Max specifies a 1000 Hz polling rate in its 2.4GHz and wired modes. The Durgod S230's polling rate is not stated in the provided information, so a direct comparison cannot be made.

The Keychron K3 Max uses screw-in stabilizers, which are user-serviceable and preferred by modders. The type of stabilizers on the Durgod S230 is not specified, so their moddability is unclear.

The Keychron vendor description states the K3 Max hot-swappable version is currently compatible with Gateron and Keychron low-profile mechanical switches only. It explicitly notes that QMK does not support low-profile optical switches for this model.

Still torn?

Answer a few quick questions and the keyboard finder ranks 2,000+ boards by how you will actually use yours.