Not sure which keyboard to choose? Try the Keyboard Finder now!

Head to head · Prices checked Nov 7, 2026

AULA EA75 Max vs Royal Kludge RK89Screen vs Numpad Choice

Choose the Epomaker EA75 Max for a premium typing experience and screen, or the Royal Kludge RK89 for a dedicated numpad and USB hub.

KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.

EPOMAKER x AULA EA75 Max

4.8 (16)

$67at Epomaker

90-day low

Quick verdict

Which one should you get?

Get the

AULA EA75 Max

Screen

Build quality in the top 45% of 75% boards under $100.

If you want

  • Includes a customizable TFT screen and a multifunction control knob.
  • Features a gasket-mount structure with five layers of sound dampening foam and silicone.
  • Uses double-shot PBT keycaps and south-facing per-key RGB lighting.

Rules this board out

  • South-facing LEDs. Shine-through legends stay dark, and some sculpted keycaps can clip the LED.
  • No numpad.

Get the

Royal Kludge RK89

Numpad Choice

Build quality in the bottom 20% of 80% boards under $100.

If you want

  • Unique 89-key layout incorporates a numpad into a compact 80% form factor.
  • Includes two USB 2.0 passthrough ports for peripheral connectivity.
  • Features a detachable frame, which may aid in cleaning and maintenance.

Rules this board out

  • No numpad.

Bottom line

For most users, the Epomaker EA75 Max delivers better overall value with its superior feature set, build quality, and battery life. Its screen, knob, and tuned typing experience justify its similar price point. Only choose the Royal Kludge RK89 if your workflow is heavily dependent on a numpad and you would actively use the USB passthrough ports on a daily basis.

What actually differs

The differences that matter

Skip the 40-row spec sheet. These are the specs that change how each board feels, sounds, and fits your desk.

AULA EA75 Max

Royal Kludge RK89

  • Layout size

    75%

    80%

  • Battery

    5,000 mAh

    1,850 mAh

    A larger battery means fewer cables during the day

  • Switch options

    Linear, Silent

    Clicky, Linear, Tactile

  • Knob

    Yes

    No

  • Display

    TFT

    None

    A case display rather than a typing feature

KeebFinder scores

How we score
  • AULA EA75 Max
  • Royal Kludge RK89
Performance
78
63
Build quality
68
48
Productivity
83
66
Customizability
73
62
Portability
79
71

What they share

  • Connection: Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired
  • Hot-swappable
See every spec side by side

Best for

What will you mostly use it for?

The Epomaker EA75 Max wins in more categories, particularly where premium build, sound quality, and modern features like its screen and knob are valued. It is the stronger choice for gaming, programming, travel, modding, and content creation. The Royal Kludge RK89 finds its niche in office and data-entry scenarios where its integrated numpad and USB passthrough ports provide tangible, practical advantages that the more compact EA75 Max cannot match.

For gaming

Pick the AULA EA75 Max

  • The EA75 Max has a specified 1000Hz polling rate in wired and 2.4GHz modes, while the RK89's rate is not stated.
  • The EA75 Max includes N-Key Rollover for anti-ghosting, a feature not explicitly listed for the RK89.
  • Its gasket mount and five-layer dampening (Sandwich Pad, IXPE Switch Pad, PET pad, Bottom Foam, Silicone) may provide a more consistent, stable typing feel.

Full specs

AULA EA75 Max vs Royal Kludge RK89 specs

Every tracked spec, side by side. Rows marked with a dot differ between the boards.

13 of 24 specs differ

AULA EA75 Max

Royal Kludge RK89

Typing & switches

Switch options

Linear, Silent
Clicky, Linear, Tactile

Hot-swappable

Yes
Yes

Mount style

Gasket Mount
—

Sound dampening

Yes
No

Layout

Layout size

75%
80%

Layout standard

ANSI
ANSI

Ergonomics

Standard
Standard

Knob

Yes
No

Display

TFT
None

Connectivity & battery

Connection

Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired
Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired

Max polling rate

1,000 Hz
—

Battery

5,000 mAhBetter
1,850 mAh

USB passthrough

No
Yes

USB-C

Yes
Yes

Build & materials

Case material

ABS
—

Plate material

Polycarbonate
—

Keycaps

PBT
ABS

Weight

958.5 g
1,000 g

Dimensions

43 x 333 x 147 mm
41 x 135 x 41 mm

Typing angle

5°
—

Backlight

RGB, south-facing
RGB

Firmware & software

N-key rollover

Yes
No

Mac & Windows

Yes
Yes

Extras

Released

2026
2022

Where to buy

Compare prices

Live prices from the stores we track, cheapest in-stock offer first.

Prices in USD are converted to your currency and can change at any time. KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.

Lowest price across stores, Amazon excluded.

FAQ

AULA EA75 Max vs Royal Kludge RK89: your questions

The Epomaker EA75 Max has a significantly larger 5000mAh battery, while the Royal Kludge RK89 has a 1850mAh battery. Based on the listed capacities, the EA75 Max should last much longer between charges during wireless use.

Yes. The RK89 uses an 89-key layout, which Royal Kludge describes as an 85% layout that brings the number pad back into a compact form factor. It saves space compared to a full-size keyboard but retains the numpad.

The EA75 Max uses a gasket-mount structure where the plate is suspended on soft gaskets. This is combined with five layers of dampening materials, including a Sandwich Pad, IXPE Switch Pad, PET Sound-Enhancement pad, Bottom Foam, and Bottom Silicone, to create a softer, more cushioned typing sound and feel.

Yes, both the Epomaker EA75 Max and the Royal Kludge RK89 are hot-swappable. This means you can replace the mechanical switches without soldering. The EA75 Max supports both 3-pin and 5-pin switches.

The Epomaker EA75 Max offers a silent linear switch option called Cotton Candy switches. The RK89's vendor description lists clicky, tactile, and linear switches, but does not specify a silent variant. Therefore, the EA75 Max is the clearer choice for a quiet environment.

The RK89's vendor specifications list 'Blue backlighting' and '20 onboard Blue backlit modes'. This indicates it has single-color blue backlighting, not full per-key RGB lighting with multiple colors like the EA75 Max offers.

According to Epomaker, the TFT screen on the EA75 Max can display the time, date, keyboard battery life, connectivity status, and operating mode. It can also show custom GIFs and provide real-time feedback when adjusting settings with the knob.

Yes. The EA75 Max uses double-shot PBT keycaps in a Cherry profile, which are generally more durable and resistant to shine. The RK89 uses double-shot ABS keycaps, which may develop a shiny appearance with prolonged use but often have brighter backlighting.

Only the Royal Kludge RK89 includes built-in USB connectivity. It has two USB 2.0 passthrough ports and one Type-C port, allowing you to connect other devices directly to the keyboard.

Both keyboards offer software for customization, but with caveats. The EA75 Max has a driver for key remapping and macros, though a user review noted it can be hard to find. The RK89 has DIY software support, but its vendor page notes the programmer is only for Windows and must be run in wired mode.

The Epomaker EA75 Max has a 75% layout, which is generally more compact as it omits the numpad and function cluster. The RK89, while an 80% size, incorporates a numpad, making it wider. For pure space savings, the 75% EA75 Max is the more compact option.

Still torn?

Answer a few quick questions and the keyboard finder ranks 2,000+ boards by how you will actually use yours.