Furycube F75 S vs Nuphy Gem80Pre-Built vs Custom Kit Choice
Choose the Furycube F75 S for a complete, ready-to-use wireless keyboard, or the Nuphy Gem80 for extensive hardware and firmware customization as a barebones kit.
Which one should you get?
Get the
Furycube F75 S
Pre-Built
- Sold as a complete, pre-built keyboard with switches and keycaps included.
- Compact 75% layout saves desk space while keeping function row.
- Offers tri-mode connectivity (Bluetooth, 2.4GHz, wired) for flexibility.
- Does not support advanced, open-source firmware like QMK or VIA.
- Limited customization options compared to a dedicated barebones kit.
- The vendor description does not specify a polling rate for performance-critical use.
Get the
Nuphy Gem80
Custom Kit Choice
- Extensive hardware customizability with omni-mount design, multiple plate options, and sound mods.
- Full QMK and VIA firmware support for deep key remapping and macro programming.
- Specifies a 1000Hz polling rate for both wired and 2.4GHz wireless modes.
- Sold primarily as a barebones kit, requiring separate purchase of switches and keycaps.
- The assembly process can be challenging, as noted in some user reviews.
- Larger and heavier TKL form factor is less portable than a 75% layout.
Your choice fundamentally comes down to convenience versus customization. Buy the Furycube F75 S if you want a polished, complete wireless keyboard that works perfectly out of the box. Choose the Nuphy Gem80 if you are an enthusiast who views the keyboard as a project, valuing the ability to tailor every aspect of its sound, feel, and programmability, and are willing to source your own switches and keycaps.
The differences that matter
Skip the 40-row spec sheet. These are the specs that change how each board feels, sounds, and fits your desk.
Furycube F75 S
Nuphy Gem80
Layout size
75%
80%
Case material
Aluminum
Aluminum, Polycarbonate
Knob
Yes
No
Weight
2,000 g
1,120 g
QMK
No
Yes
- Furycube F75 S
- Nuphy Gem80
- Performance
- 6880
- Build quality
- 6184
- Productivity
- 7388
- Customizability
- 7094
- Portability
- 8076
- Connection: Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired
- Hot-swappable
What will you mostly use it for?
The Nuphy Gem80 is the clear choice for gamers seeking low-latency wireless and for programmers or modders who demand extensive firmware and hardware customization. The Furycube F75 S wins for office use and travel due to its smaller, pre-assembled form factor that works immediately. For content creation, the choice depends on whether you prioritize a ready-to-go tool or a programmable platform.
Pick the Nuphy Gem80
- The Nuphy Gem80's vendor page specifies a 1000Hz polling rate for both wired and 2.4GHz wireless modes.
- It uses a Nordic wireless chip and STM32 MCU, which the manufacturer states are optimized for low latency.
- The Furycube F75 S listing does not specify a polling rate for its wireless modes.
Furycube F75 S vs Nuphy Gem80 specs
Every tracked spec, side by side. Rows marked with a dot differ between the boards.
13 of 26 specs differ
Furycube F75 S
Nuphy Gem80
Switch options
Hot-swappable
Mount style
Sound dampening
Layout size
Layout standard
Ergonomics
Knob
Display
Media keys
Connection
Max polling rate
Battery
USB-C
Case material
Plate material
Keycaps
Weight
Dimensions
Typing angle
Backlight
QMK
VIA
N-key rollover
Mac & Windows
Released
Compare prices
Live prices from the stores we track, cheapest in-stock offer first.
Lowest price across stores, Amazon excluded.
Prices in USD are converted to your currency and can change at any time. KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.
Furycube F75 S vs Nuphy Gem80: your questions
No, the Nuphy Gem80 is primarily sold as a barebones kit. According to the manufacturer, this includes the assembled PCB, sound mods, and stabilizers, but it does not include switches or keycaps. You must purchase these separately to complete the keyboard.
The vendor description for the Furycube F75 S does not mention support for open-source firmware like QMK or VIA. It is presented as a pre-configured keyboard, so advanced key remapping may not be available compared to the Gem80.
The Nuphy Gem80's specifications list a 1000Hz polling rate for its 2.4GHz wireless mode, and the manufacturer discusses latency optimization with a Nordic chip and STM32 MCU. The Furycube F75 S listing does not specify a wireless polling rate, making the Gem80 the more documented choice for performance-focused wireless gaming.
Yes, extensively. The Gem80 features an 'omni-mount' system that allows you to change the mounting style (gasket, top, bottom) using included kits. You can also purchase different plate materials like PC, POM, or aluminum to significantly alter the flex and sound.
The Furycube F75 S is a pre-built unit. The vendor listing states the package includes the complete keyboard, a 2.4G receiver, a USB-C cable, a keycap and switch puller, and a user manual.
Yes. The Nuphy Gem80's tech specs list macOS as a compatible system. The manufacturer also notes that VIA firmware works on Mac and that a hardware switch on the bottom case enables a Mac mode with specific function key mappings.
The Furycube F75 S is more portable due to its smaller 75% layout (375mm length) and because it is a single, complete unit. The Nuphy Gem80 is a larger TKL (358mm length) and, as a kit, may require transporting separate components.
Yes, both the Furycube F75 S and the Nuphy Gem80 support hot-swapping for MX-style switches. The Furycube listing mentions compatibility with most 3/5 pin switches, and the Gem80 also supports 3/5 pin switches.
The Furycube F75 S comes with PBT keycaps in a Cherry profile. The vendor description confirms the keycap material and profile as part of the pre-built package.
The Nuphy Gem80 is designed with sound in mind, featuring multiple pre-installed sound mods like poron absorbers, an IXPE dampener, and a silicone sheet. The manufacturer describes a tuned 'thocky' sound signature and offers additional mods for further experimentation.
The Nuphy Gem80 has a specified 4000mAh battery, with lab test results showing up to 330 hours with lights off. The Furycube F75 S vendor description does not specify battery capacity or life, so a direct comparison cannot be made.
Yes. The specifications list the Furycube F75 S case material as aluminum. The vendor description also emphasizes its 'premium aluminum' construction and 'streamlined waist design'.
Not sold on either?
Still torn?
Answer a few quick questions and the keyboard finder ranks 2,000+ boards by how you will actually use yours.









![[In Stock] Dolphins75 75% Mechanical Keyboard](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0549/0262/0278/products/7ce4f9b819d9d19cecd21e99770e30b1.jpg?v=1702526832&width=3840&quality=75)




