Which one should you get?
Get the
Keychron V5 Max
Customization
- Extensive firmware customization with open-source QMK and VIA support.
- Gasket mount design with a polycarbonate plate for a softer, quieter typing experience.
- South-facing RGB LEDs that prevent interference with Cherry-profile keycaps.
- Does not include a wrist rest, which is sold separately.
- Lacks USB passthrough ports for connecting other devices.
- Uses non-shine-through PBT keycaps, which may not appeal to users who prefer backlit legends.
Get the
Royal Kludge RK96
Value
- Includes an integrated magnetic wrist rest for improved ergonomics.
- Features two USB 2.0 passthrough ports on the keyboard itself.
- The vendor listing shows it can be found at a lower starting price point.
- Limited to ANSI layout only, with no ISO options mentioned.
- The vendor description for some models indicates only a blue single-color backlight, not full RGB.
- Uses ABS double-shot keycaps, which are more prone to shine over time compared to PBT.
Your priority should guide this choice. For an enthusiast-focused typing experience with unparalleled customization via QMK/VIA and a premium gasket-mount build, the Keychron V5 Max is worth the investment. If you need a practical, full-featured 96% keyboard with a wrist rest and USB hub at a more accessible price, and you don't require advanced firmware, the Royal Kludge RK96 is a solid contender.
The differences that matter
Skip the 40-row spec sheet. These are the specs that change how each board feels, sounds, and fits your desk.
Keychron V5 Max
Royal Kludge RK96
Battery
4,000 mAh
3,750 mAh
Case material
ABS, Plastic
Plastic
Mount style
Gasket Mount, Plate Mount
PCB Mount
Weight
925 g
1,500 g
QMK
Yes
No
- Keychron V5 Max
- Royal Kludge RK96
- Performance
- 8351
- Build quality
- 8655
- Productivity
- 9791
- Customizability
- 9878
- Portability
- 5354
- Layout size: 96%
- Connection: Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired
- Hot-swappable
- Switch options: Clicky, Linear, Tactile
- Knob
- Sound dampening
What will you mostly use it for?
The Keychron V5 Max is the clear choice for gaming, programming, and modding due to its high polling rate, extensive firmware support, and gasket-mounted construction. The Royal Kludge RK96 wins for office use with its included wrist rest and USB passthrough ports. For travel, the Keychron's lighter weight is a notable advantage, while content creators might value features from both keyboards equally.
Pick the Keychron V5 Max
- The Keychron V5 Max specifies a 1000 Hz polling rate in its 2.4 GHz and wired modes.
- Its gasket mount and polycarbonate plate are designed to reduce acoustic resonance for a quieter experience.
- South-facing RGB LEDs prevent interference with Cherry-profile keycaps, a common choice for gamers.
What owners say
Ratings and quotes collected from verified store reviews, including the critical ones.
Keychron V5 Max
5 owner reviews
“The keys feel smooth and easy as you type. It's probably the best keyboard I've used. I've had a number of mechanical keyboards, but, none of them can compare to the v5 max. The feel of the thing while typing, is hard to not constantly repeat.”
Royal Kludge RK96
No owner reviews collected yet.
Keychron V5 Max vs Royal Kludge RK96 specs
Every tracked spec, side by side. Rows marked with a dot differ between the boards.
13 of 28 specs differ
Keychron V5 Max
Royal Kludge RK96
Switch options
Hot-swappable
Mount style
Sound dampening
Screw-in stabilizers
Layout size
Layout standard
Ergonomics
Knob
Display
Media keys
Connection
Max polling rate
Battery
USB passthrough
USB-C
Case material
Plate material
Keycaps
Weight
Dimensions
Typing angle
Backlight
QMK
VIA
N-key rollover
Mac & Windows
Released
Compare prices
Live prices from the stores we track, cheapest in-stock offer first.
Lowest price across stores, Amazon excluded.
Prices in USD are converted to your currency and can change at any time. KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.
Keychron V5 Max vs Royal Kludge RK96: your questions
The Keychron V5 Max supports QMK and VIA, which are open-source, cross-platform firmware tools allowing deep key remapping and macro programming. The Royal Kludge RK96 uses proprietary software that, according to its listing, is for Windows only and must be used in wired mode.
No. Only the Royal Kludge RK96 includes an integrated magnetic wrist rest in the box. The Keychron V5 Max does not include a wrist rest, but Keychron sells silicone and resin palm rests separately.
Yes, but with an important distinction. The Keychron V5 Max has south-facing RGB LEDs, which are specifically designed to prevent interference with Cherry-profile and OEM-profile keycaps. The RK96's LED orientation is not specified, so interference may be a possibility with certain keycap profiles.
The Keychron V5 Max uses a gasket mount design, where the plate is suspended on rubber gaskets for a softer, more flexible typing feel. The Royal Kludge RK96 uses a standard PCB mount style, which typically results in a firmer typing experience.
The Keychron V5 Max has dedicated support for macOS, including a system toggle and an extra set of keycaps for Mac modifiers. The RK96 is listed as compatible with Mac, but the Keychron offers more integrated system switching features.
The Keychron V5 Max (fully assembled) comes with double-shot PBT keycaps, which are more resistant to oil and shine. The Royal Kludge RK96 comes with double-shot ABS keycaps, which can develop a shiny appearance with prolonged use but may offer shine-through legends on RGB models.
The Royal Kludge RK96 product description states its PCB-mount stabilizers are "well-adjusted & lubed" by the manufacturer. The Keychron V5 Max uses screw-in PCB stabilizers, but the listing does not specify if they are pre-lubed.
Based on listed capacities, the Keychron V5 Max has a 4000mAh battery, while the RK96 has a 3750mAh battery. However, actual battery life depends on usage, backlight settings, and efficiency. Keychron claims up to 190 hours with backlight off.
Yes, the Keychron V5 Max is offered in a barebone kit version that excludes switches and keycaps. The Royal Kludge RK96 is only listed as a pre-built kit, including switches, keycaps, and accessories.
Console compatibility is not specified in the provided information for either keyboard. They should work in wired mode if the console supports standard USB HID keyboards, but wireless functionality via 2.4GHz or Bluetooth is not guaranteed.
The Keychron V5 Max listing mentions "sound-absorbing foam" but does not specify the type. The Royal Kludge RK96 description explicitly states it uses "Two Layers EVA Silencer of High-density Foam" inside the keyboard.
Not sold on either?
Still torn?
Answer a few quick questions and the keyboard finder ranks 2,000+ boards by how you will actually use yours.













