Ajazz AK820 Max vs Zuoya GMK87Magnetic vs TKL
Choose the Ajazz AK820 Max for its prebuilt Hall Effect setup and smaller layout, or the Zuoya GMK87 for a TKL DIY kit with a polycarbonate plate.
KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.
4.3 (16)4.3 · 16 reviews
from$59at WhatGeek
90-day lowLowest price in 90 days
No reviews
from$69at ktechs
Which one should you get?
Get the
Ajazz AK820 Max
Magnetic
Build quality in the bottom 30% of 75% boards under $100.
- Pre-built 75% ANSI layout with 82 keys and a knob.
- Hall Effect magnetic linear switches, with hot-swap support.
- TFT screen and RGB lighting.
- Magnetic switches only. Standard MX switches will not fit.
- No numpad.
Get the
Zuoya GMK87
TKL
Build quality in the top 30% of 80% boards under $100.
- 80% TKL ANSI layout with 87 keys.
- DIY kit/barebones design with a hot-swap PCB.
- Polycarbonate plate and vendor-listed case, plate, and PE PCB foam.
- South-facing LEDs. Shine-through legends stay dark, and some sculpted keycaps can clip the LED.
- No numpad.
Choose the Ajazz AK820 Max if you want a prebuilt compact keyboard with Hall Effect switches, a knob, and a TFT screen. Pick the Zuoya GMK87 if a TKL layout and a DIY build with a polycarbonate plate and specified foam layers matter more. Check the compatibility notes before buying replacement switches or keycaps.
The differences that matter
Skip the 40-row spec sheet. These are the specs that change how each board feels, sounds, and fits your desk.
Ajazz AK820 Max
Zuoya GMK87
Layout size
75%
80%
Hall effect (magnetic)
Yes
No
Adjustable actuation helps in games and not in normal typing
Battery
4,000 mAh
3,000 mAh
A larger battery means fewer cables during the day
Case material
ABS, PBT
ABS
Knob
Yes
No
- Ajazz AK820 Max
- Zuoya GMK87
- Performance
- 5961
- Build quality
- 5571
- Productivity
- 8575
- Customizability
- 7577
- Portability
- 8173
- Connection: Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired
- Hot-swappable
- Mount style: Gasket Mount
- Sound dampening
What will you mostly use it for?
The AK820 Max is the more natural fit for buyers who want a ready-to-use keyboard, Hall Effect switches, or a smaller footprint. The GMK87 takes the edge for users who want a TKL kit and more explicitly described build materials for customization. Travel leans toward the AK820 Max based on its listed weight, dimensions, and larger battery. The 75% versus TKL layout is the main day-to-day distinction.
Pick the Ajazz AK820 Max
- The AK820 Max is explicitly listed with Hall Effect magnetic linear switches.
- Its 75% layout includes a knob and keeps the keyboard more compact than the GMK87's 80% TKL layout.
Ajazz AK820 Max vs Zuoya GMK87 specs
Every tracked spec, side by side. Rows marked with a dot differ between the boards.
8 of 21 specs differ
Ajazz AK820 Max
Zuoya GMK87
Switch options
Hall effect (magnetic)
Hot-swappable
Mount style
Sound dampening
Layout size
Layout standard
Ergonomics
Knob
Display
Connection
Battery
USB-C
Case material
Plate material
Keycaps
Weight
Dimensions
Backlight
Mac & Windows
Released
Compare prices
Live prices from the stores we track, cheapest in-stock offer first.
Prices in USD are converted to your currency and can change at any time. KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.
Lowest price across stores, Amazon excluded.
Ajazz AK820 Max vs Zuoya GMK87: your questions
The AK820 Max is the clearer fit if you specifically want magnetic Hall Effect switches, which are listed for this model. The GMK87 is listed as a hot-swappable kit, but its switch type is not specified here.
The Ajazz AK820 Max is a 75% ANSI keyboard, listed as 82 keys plus a knob. The Zuoya GMK87 is an 80% TKL layout with 87 keys.
No, its compatibility rule specifies magnetic switches only. Standard MX switches will not fit the AK820 Max.
Yes, it is listed as a DIY kit/barebones product with a hot-swap PCB. Its vendor listing also specifies case, plate, and PE PCB foam.
The AK820 Max is listed with a 4000mAh battery, while the GMK87 has a 3000mAh battery. These capacity figures do not establish how long either keyboard lasts between charges.
Both are listed with Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, and wired connectivity. The AK820 Max vendor description also calls its connection tri-mode.
The AK820 Max is listed with a TFT screen and knob support. The GMK87 has a screen listed, but a knob is not specified for that model.
The AK820 Max is listed with an FR4 plate. The GMK87 uses a polycarbonate plate.
Its south-facing LEDs mean shine-through legends can stay dark. The compatibility rule also warns that some sculpted keycaps can clip the LED.
The AK820 Max has a listed weight of 850g and dimensions of 20 x 333 x 143 mm. A weight and dimensions for the GMK87 are not specified here, so a direct weight comparison is not possible.
Neither keyboard has a numpad according to its compatibility rules. The AK820 Max is 75%, while the GMK87 is an 80% TKL layout.
The AK820 Max is listed as pre-built. The GMK87 is described as a DIY kit/barebones keyboard, so buyers should expect a kit-oriented build rather than the same prebuilt configuration.
Not sold on either?
Still torn?
Answer a few quick questions and the keyboard finder ranks 2,000+ boards by how you will actually use yours.













