Ajazz AK820 Max Plus vs AK980Tri-Mode or RGB
Choose the AK820 Max Plus for its 75% layout and wired, Bluetooth, and 2.4 GHz connections, or the AK980 if RGB is the priority.
KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.
4.0 (5)4.0 · 5 reviews
from$57at WhatGeek
No reviews
from$79at Mechkeys
Which one should you get?
Get the
Ajazz AK820 Max Plus
Knob
Build quality in the bottom 35% of 75% boards under $100.
- 75% ANSI layout with a listed weight of 850g and dimensions of 20 x 333 x 143 mm.
- Wired, Bluetooth, and 2.4 GHz connectivity, plus USB-C.
- TFT screen and knob support.
Get the
Ajazz AK980
- RGB lighting is listed as a feature.
- Gasket mount and a vendor-described five-layer filled gasket structure.
- TFT screen and 8000mAh battery.
For more connection flexibility and a clearly specified 75% layout, choose the AK820 Max Plus, which also adds knob support and documented sound-dampening layers. Pick the AK980 if RGB lighting and its gasket-mount design matter more to you. Both have hot-swappable switches, FR4 plates, PBT keycaps, and TFT screens.
The differences that matter
Skip the 40-row spec sheet. These are the specs that change how each board feels, sounds, and fits your desk.
Ajazz AK820 Max Plus
Ajazz AK980
Connection
Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired
Wireless
Wireless for several devices and wired for lower latency
Case material
ABS
Plastic
Knob
Yes
No
Sound dampening
Yes
No
Backlight
None
RGB
RGB for looks and low light rather than speed
- Ajazz AK820 Max Plus
- Ajazz AK980
- Performance
- 5242
- Build quality
- 5749
- Productivity
- 8442
- Customizability
- 6158
- Portability
- 9257
- Hot-swappable
- Battery: 8,000 mAh
- Switch options: Linear
- Display: TFT
- Plate material: FR4
- Keycaps: PBT
What will you mostly use it for?
The AK820 Max Plus leads across these use cases on the strength of its documented layout, connection choices, and added controls. Its clearest travel advantage is that its weight and dimensions are listed, while the AK980’s are not. Both offer hot-swappable switches, but the AK820 Max Plus vendor description gives more detail about its sound-dampening layers. The AK980’s main differentiator is RGB lighting.
Pick the Ajazz AK820 Max Plus
- The AK820 Max Plus supports wired, Bluetooth, and 2.4 GHz connections, while the AK980 is listed as wireless.
- Both keyboards use linear switches and have hot-swappable switches.
Ajazz AK820 Max Plus vs AK980 specs
Every tracked spec, side by side. Rows marked with a dot differ between the boards.
7 of 20 specs differ
Ajazz AK820 Max Plus
Ajazz AK980
Switch options
Hot-swappable
Mount style
Sound dampening
Layout size
Layout standard
Ergonomics
Knob
Display
Connection
Battery
USB-C
Case material
Plate material
Keycaps
Weight
Dimensions
Backlight
Mac & Windows
Released
Compare prices
Live prices from the stores we track, cheapest in-stock offer first.
Prices in USD are converted to your currency and can change at any time. KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.
Lowest price across stores, Amazon excluded.
Ajazz AK820 Max Plus vs AK980: your questions
The AK820 Max Plus is listed with a 75% layout and wired, Bluetooth, and 2.4 GHz connections. The AK980’s listing specifies wireless connectivity, RGB, and a gasket mount.
Yes, its listed connectivity includes Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, and wired modes. The vendor also describes it as a tri-mode keyboard.
The AK980 is listed as wireless, and its vendor description does not specify a wired mode. The AK820 Max Plus explicitly lists wired connectivity and USB-C.
The AK980 is listed with RGB lighting. The AK820 Max Plus metadata lists RGB as unavailable.
Both models are listed as hot-swappable. The AK820 Max Plus vendor description says its switches can be changed across all keys.
The AK980 is listed with a gasket mount, and its vendor describes a five-layer filled gasket structure. A mount style is not specified for the AK820 Max Plus.
Both keyboards are listed with TFT screens. The AK820 Max Plus vendor describes its display as showing time, connectivity, battery level, and GIF animations.
The AK820 Max Plus has a listed weight of 850g and dimensions of 20 x 333 x 143 mm, along with an 8000mAh battery and wireless connections. The AK980 also has an 8000mAh battery, but its weight and dimensions are not listed here.
The AK820 Max Plus metadata lists Mac/Win support, and its vendor description also names Mac compatibility. The AK980’s supplied product details do not specify operating-system compatibility.
The vendor describes a silicone layer between two cotton layers, plus an IXPE switch pad. The product metadata also lists sound dampening as a feature.
Yes, both are listed with PBT keycaps and FR4 plates. The AK980 vendor further describes its plate as gold-plated and double-sided slot.
Knob support is listed for the AK820 Max Plus, and its vendor describes an updated knob. The AK980’s listed extra features do not include a knob.
Not sold on either?
Still torn?
Answer a few quick questions and the keyboard finder ranks 2,000+ boards by how you will actually use yours.










