AULA F75 Max vs Royal Kludge S85
Choose the AULA F75 Max for its 75% format, stated 1000 Hz polling rate and TFT screen, or the S85 for its 80% TKL layout and larger battery.
KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.
Which one should you get?
Get the
AULA F75 Max
Screw-in stabilizers
Build quality in the top 25% of 75% boards under $100.
- 75% ANSI layout with a TFT screen and volume knob.
- 1000 Hz polling rate is listed, and AULA specifies wired and 2.4 GHz operation at that rate.
- Linear switches, hot-swap support for 3-pin and 5-pin switches, and N-key rollover.
- South-facing LEDs. Shine-through legends stay dark, and some sculpted keycaps can clip the LED.
- No numpad.
Get the
Royal Kludge S85
Battery
Build quality in the top 30% of 80% boards under $100.
- 80% TKL ANSI layout with an OLED display.
- 7200mAh battery, larger in capacity than the F75 Max’s 4000mAh battery.
- Tri-mode connectivity, gasket mount and hot-swappable switches.
- South-facing LEDs. Shine-through legends stay dark, and some sculpted keycaps can clip the LED.
- No numpad.
Pick the AULA F75 Max if you want the more compact 75% board, a specified 1000 Hz polling rate and a TFT display with vendor-described GIF support. Choose the Royal Kludge S85 if you prefer an 80% TKL layout and its larger 7200mAh battery. Both are hot-swappable, gasket-mounted and wireless, so these differences should guide the decision more than their shared features.
The differences that matter
Skip the 40-row spec sheet. These are the specs that change how each board feels, sounds, and fits your desk.
AULA F75 Max
Royal Kludge S85
Layout size
75%
80%
Battery
4,000 mAh
7,200 mAh
A larger battery means fewer cables during the day
Display
TFT
OLED
A case display rather than a typing feature
Weight
960 g
950 g
Heavier boards stay planted and lighter ones travel
Screw-in stabilizers
Yes
No
Easier to tune than the plate-mount stabs you get prebuilt
- AULA F75 Max
- Royal Kludge S85
- Performance
- 7967
- Build quality
- 7669
- Productivity
- 9184
- Customizability
- 7874
- Portability
- 8086
- Connection: Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired
- Hot-swappable
- Mount style: Gasket Mount
- Knob
- Sound dampening
- Keycaps: PBT
What will you mostly use it for?
The F75 Max has the clearer edge for gaming and display customization because its polling rate and TFT GIF support are explicitly described. The S85 is more compelling for office use and travel if you value its larger TKL layout and higher-capacity battery. Programming is close, with both offering ANSI layouts, hot-swap support and wireless modes, but neither includes a numpad. For modding, AULA provides more explicit information about switch pin support and the plate, while both boards list five-layer sound dampening.
Pick the AULA F75 Max
- The F75 Max lists a 1000 Hz polling rate, while the S85 listing does not specify one.
- AULA’s vendor description says the F75 Max reaches 1000 Hz over wired and 2.4 GHz modes and supports N-key rollover.
- Both boards offer tri-mode connectivity, gasket mounting and hot-swappable switches.
AULA F75 Max vs Royal Kludge S85 specs
Every tracked spec, side by side. Rows marked with a dot differ between the boards.
7 of 23 specs differ
AULA F75 Max
Royal Kludge S85
Switch options
Hot-swappable
Mount style
Sound dampening
Screw-in stabilizers
Layout size
Layout standard
Ergonomics
Knob
Display
Connection
Max polling rate
Battery
USB-C
Case material
Plate material
Keycaps
Weight
Dimensions
Backlight
N-key rollover
Mac & Windows
Released
Compare prices
Live prices from the stores we track, cheapest in-stock offer first.
Prices in USD are converted to your currency and can change at any time. KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.
Lowest price across stores, Amazon excluded.
AULA F75 Max vs Royal Kludge S85: your questions
The AULA F75 Max is a 75% keyboard with a TFT screen and listed 1000 Hz polling rate. The Royal Kludge S85 is an 80% TKL board with an OLED display and a 7200mAh battery.
The F75 Max lists a 1000 Hz polling rate, and AULA specifies that rate for wired and 2.4 GHz modes. The S85 product details do not specify a polling rate, so a direct listed-rate comparison is unavailable.
Neither keyboard has a numpad, according to their compatibility rules. The S85’s 80% TKL layout is larger than the F75 Max’s 75% layout, but it does not add a numpad.
The Royal Kludge S85 has a 7200mAh battery, compared with the AULA F75 Max’s 4000mAh battery. Battery capacity alone does not establish how long either keyboard will run in a particular setup.
Both support Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz wireless, and both also support wired connectivity. The F75 Max vendor description specifies USB-C for wired use.
The F75 Max has a TFT screen, while the S85 has an OLED display. AULA says its screen can show time, battery, connection and status and can display custom GIFs uploaded through software; Royal Kludge describes the S85 screen as showing battery, connection and system mode.
Yes, both keyboards are listed as hot-swappable. AULA specifies 3-pin and 5-pin mechanical-switch support for the F75 Max, and Royal Kludge says the S85 supports 3-pin and 5-pin switches.
The S85 weighs 950g, while the F75 Max weighs 960g. The difference is small, and both keyboards have gasket mounts and wireless connectivity.
Both keyboards have south-facing LEDs, and their compatibility notes say shine-through legends stay dark. The notes also warn that some sculpted keycaps can clip the LED.
The F75 Max has the stronger documented case for gaming because it lists 1000 Hz polling and N-key rollover, with AULA specifying 1000 Hz on wired and 2.4 GHz modes. The S85 is also a hot-swappable tri-mode wireless keyboard, but its listing does not specify a polling rate.
AULA specifies that the F75 Max accepts 3-pin and 5-pin switches and says screw-in stabilizers can be swapped in. Royal Kludge also lists hot-swappable switches for the S85, but its product details do not provide the same stabilizer-swap detail.
Yes, both are listed with south-facing RGB lighting. Their compatibility notes warn that shine-through legends stay dark and some sculpted keycaps can clip the LED.
Not sold on either?
Still torn?
Answer a few quick questions and the keyboard finder ranks 2,000+ boards by how you will actually use yours.












