Keychron V1 Max vs Monka K75Customization vs Budget 75% Keyboards
Choose the Keychron V1 Max for deep customization and firmware support, or the Monka K75 for a lower-cost entry into a gasket-mount wireless board.
KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.
Which one should you get?
Get the
Keychron V1 Max
Customization
Build quality in the top 5% of 75% boards under $100.
- Extensive firmware support with open-source QMK and VIA for deep customization.
- Includes screw-in PCB stabilizers and a polycarbonate plate for a premium typing feel.
- Offers multiple ISO layout options and includes keycaps for both Mac and Windows.
- South-facing LEDs. Shine-through legends stay dark, and some sculpted keycaps can clip the LED.
Get the
Monka K75
Budget 75% Keyboards
Build quality in the bottom 20% of 75% boards under $100.
- Lower cost entry point for a tri-mode wireless keyboard with a gasket mount.
- Larger 5000mAh battery for potentially longer wireless runtime.
- Features a five-layer internal padding system for sound dampening.
- No ISO layout. ISO-DE, UK, and other ISO variants are not offered.
Your budget and need for customization dictate the choice here. The Keychron V1 Max is worth the investment for enthusiasts, programmers, and gamers who value firmware programmability, build quality details, and long-term modding potential. The Monka K75 is a sensible budget pick for users who want the core experience of a wireless, gasket-mount 75% keyboard without the need for deep technical customization.
The differences that matter
Skip the 40-row spec sheet. These are the specs that change how each board feels, sounds, and fits your desk.
Keychron V1 Max
Monka K75
Battery
4,000 mAh
5,000 mAh
A larger battery means fewer cables during the day
Case material
ABS, Plastic
Plastic
Switch options
Clicky, Linear, Tactile
Linear, Tactile
Mount style
Gasket Mount, Plate Mount
Gasket Mount
Weight
770 g
860 g
Heavier boards stay planted and lighter ones travel
- Keychron V1 Max
- Monka K75
- Performance
- 8351
- Build quality
- 8650
- Productivity
- 9783
- Customizability
- 9866
- Portability
- 7979
- Layout size: 75%
- Connection: Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired
- Hot-swappable
- Knob
- Sound dampening
What will you mostly use it for?
The Keychron V1 Max is the clear choice for gaming, programming, modding, and content creation due to its verified performance specs, extensive firmware support, and customization-friendly design. For office use, both keyboards are competitive with their shared wireless features and sound dampening. The Monka K75 holds a slight edge for travel only if its larger battery is a priority, despite its heavier weight.
Pick the Keychron V1 Max
- The Keychron V1 Max specifies a 1000 Hz polling rate for its 2.4 GHz and wired modes, which the Monka K75 listing does not mention.
- Keychron's product page highlights a powerful ARM MCU for low latency, a feature not discussed for the Monka K75.
- The V1 Max includes N-key rollover, a confirmed feature for precise multi-key inputs.
Keychron V1 Max vs Monka K75 specs
Every tracked spec, side by side. Rows marked with a dot differ between the boards.
15 of 27 specs differ
Keychron V1 Max
Monka K75
Switch options
Hot-swappable
Mount style
Sound dampening
Screw-in stabilizers
Layout size
Layout standard
Ergonomics
Knob
Display
Media keys
Connection
Max polling rate
Battery
USB-C
Case material
Plate material
Keycaps
Weight
Dimensions
Typing angle
Backlight
QMK
VIA
N-key rollover
Mac & Windows
Released
ISO layouts by store
Which stores sell ISO-DE, UK, and the other regional layouts.
Keychron V1 Max
Keychron
ISO-DE, ISO-UK, ISO-Nordic, ISO-SW
Out of stockShips to you
Keychron (DE)
ISO-DE, ISO-UK, ISO-FR, ISO-ES, ISO-IT, ISO-SW, ISO-PT
In stockDoes not ship to you
Monka K75
No ISO layout at the stores we track.
Compare prices
Live prices from the stores we track, cheapest in-stock offer first.
Prices in USD are converted to your currency and can change at any time. KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.
Lowest price across stores, Amazon excluded.
- Check on Amazon
Amazon
Check price
Keychron V1 Max vs Monka K75: your questions
The Keychron V1 Max uses the open-source QMK firmware and is compatible with the VIA configurator and Keychron Launcher web app for extensive key remapping and macro creation. The Monka K75 listing mentions a custom driver for RGB and macro adjustment but does not specify support for QMK or VIA.
Yes, both keyboards use standard MX-style hot-swap sockets, making them compatible with most Cherry MX keycap sets. The Keychron V1 Max specifically highlights that its south-facing RGB LEDs prevent interference with Cherry-profile keycaps.
Yes, both the Keychron V1 Max and Monka K75 list Mac support. The Keychron V1 Max includes a dedicated set of Mac keycaps and a hardware toggle to switch between macOS and Windows layouts.
The Monka K75 has a larger 5000mAh battery compared to the Keychron V1 Max's 4000mAh battery. The vendor for the K75 claims up to 15 days with backlight off, while Keychron claims up to 190 hours for the V1 Max under similar conditions. Actual battery life will vary with usage.
The Monka K75 listing mentions 'finely-adjusted stabilizers' but does not specify if they are lubricated. The Keychron V1 Max uses screw-in PCB stabilizers, which are typically easier to mod and lube, but the listing does not confirm if they come pre-lubed from the factory.
The Keychron V1 Max is marketed for gaming with a specified 1000 Hz polling rate in its 2.4 GHz and wired modes, N-key rollover, and a low-latency ARM MCU. The Monka K75 does not list its polling rate, making the V1 Max the more verifiable choice for performance-focused gaming.
Yes, the Keychron V1 Max is available as a 'Barebone Knob' version, which includes the case, PCB, plate, and stabilizers, but not switches or keycaps. This is ideal for users who want to install their own preferred components immediately.
The Keychron V1 Max uses a gasket mount design with sound-absorbing foam. The Monka K75 also uses a gasket mount and specifies a five-layered internal padding system that includes an IXPE underswitch pad, Poron sandwich cotton pad, and silicone bottom pads.
The Keychron V1 Max offers extensive ISO layout support, including UK, German, Nordic, French, and Spanish variants. The Monka K75 is listed as ANSI only, which is the standard layout primarily used in North America.
Both keyboards come with PBT keycaps. The Keychron V1 Max uses double-shot OSA profile PBT keycaps, while the Monka K75 uses dual-tone injection-molded PBT keycaps.
Both keyboards use a gasket mount design, which isolates the plate from the case with rubber or silicone gaskets to provide a softer, more cushioned typing feel and reduce acoustic resonance. The Keychron V1 Max pairs this with a polycarbonate plate.
Not sold on either?
Still torn?
Answer a few quick questions and the keyboard finder ranks 2,000+ boards by how you will actually use yours.














