Not sure which keyboard to choose? Try the Keyboard Finder now!

Head to head · Prices checked Oct 21, 2026

zFrontier Hare Works TWO Alice vs Zan 40Alice vs Split Spacebar

Choose the Hare Works TWO for its unique tented Alice ergonomics, or the Zan 40 for its more conventional split spacebar layout and greater build flexibility.

Quick verdict

Which one should you get?

Get the

zFrontier Hare Works TWO Alice

Alice

If you want

  • Unique tented, unibody Alice layout for ergonomic typing.
  • Includes sound-dampening materials like silicone pads, switch plate foam, and PET sheets.
  • Tri-mode connectivity (wired, Bluetooth, 2.4GHz) for maximum flexibility.

And can live with

  • Is a pre-order item with an estimated shipping date far in the future.
  • Wireless functionality requires separately purchasing batteries and a 2.4GHz dongle.
  • The Alice layout has a steeper learning curve compared to traditional layouts.

Get the

zFrontier Zan 40

Split Spacebar

If you want

  • Available as an in-stock DIY kit for immediate building.
  • Includes screw-in stabilizers, which are favored for a more stable typing feel.
  • Offers a wide selection of decorative backplates, including titanium options.

And can live with

  • Lacks the 2.4GHz wireless mode offered by the Hare Works TWO.
  • Does not include any mentioned sound-dampening foams or pads in the kit contents.
  • The split spacebar layout may require sourcing specific keycap sets for compatibility.

Bottom line

Your choice between these two zFrontier keyboards comes down to layout philosophy and immediacy. If you want a distinctive, tented Alice keyboard and don't mind a long pre-order wait, the Hare Works TWO Alice is the path to take. If you prefer a more traditional 40% layout with a split spacebar, want to build a kit immediately, and value extensive cosmetic customization, the Zan 40 is the better option. Both are premium, wireless-capable boards for the dedicated 40% enthusiast.

What actually differs

The differences that matter

Skip the 40-row spec sheet. These are the specs that change how each board feels, sounds, and fits your desk.

zFrontier Hare Works TWO Alice

zFrontier Zan 40

  • Connection

    Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired

    Bluetooth, Wired

  • Ergonomics

    Alice

    Split Spacebar

  • Sound dampening

    Yes

    No

  • Plate material

    Aluminum, Brass, Steel

    FR4

  • Screw-in stabilizers

    No

    Yes

KeebFinder scores

How we score
  • zFrontier Hare Works TWO Alice
  • zFrontier Zan 40
Performance
48
47
Build quality
60
74
Productivity
69
60
Customizability
49
76
Portability
86
80

What they share

  • Layout size: 40%
  • Hot-swappable
  • Case material: Aluminum
See every spec side by side

Best for

What will you mostly use it for?

The use case analysis shows a split decision, largely due to the shared constraints and benefits of the 40% form factor. For travel, the Hare Works TWO has a slight edge due to its included carrying bag. For modding, the Zan 40 is the clear winner as it is offered as a customizable DIY kit with premium stabilizers and plate options. For gaming, office work, programming, and content creation, the choice is a tie, hinging entirely on the user's personal preference for an Alice layout versus a split spacebar layout.

For gaming

It's a tie

  • Both keyboards are 40% layouts, requiring layers for many gaming keys.
  • Both support wired and wireless connectivity for flexibility.
  • Neither is specifically marketed for low-latency gaming performance.

Full specs

zFrontier Hare Works TWO Alice vs Zan 40 specs

Every tracked spec, side by side. Rows marked with a dot differ between the boards.

7 of 16 specs differ

zFrontier Hare Works TWO Alice

zFrontier Zan 40

Typing & switches

Hot-swappable

Yes
Yes

Mount style

PCB Mount
—

Sound dampening

Yes
No

Screw-in stabilizers

No
Yes

Layout

Layout size

40%
40%

Layout standard

ANSI
ANSI

Ergonomics

Alice
Split Spacebar

Display

None
None

Connectivity & battery

Connection

Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired
Bluetooth, Wired

USB-C

Yes
No

Build & materials

Case material

Aluminum
Aluminum

Plate material

Aluminum, Brass, Steel
FR4

Typing angle

11°
—

Backlight

None
None

Firmware & software

VIAL

No
Yes

Extras

Released

2025
2025

Where to buy

Compare prices

Live prices from the stores we track, cheapest in-stock offer first.

  • AmazonGlobal

    Check price
    ~$288Visit
  • zFrontierHK

    Out of stock
    $288Visit
  • AmazonGlobal

    Check price
    ~$154Visit
  • zFrontierHK

    Out of stock
    $154Visit

Prices in USD are converted to your currency and can change at any time. KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.

FAQ

zFrontier Hare Works TWO Alice vs Zan 40: your questions

The core difference is the layout. The Hare Works TWO uses a tented, unibody Alice layout, which is an ergonomic split design. The Zan 40 uses a traditional staggered 40% layout with an isolated, split spacebar. The TWO is a pre-order kit, while the Zan 40 is marketed as in-stock.

Yes, both support wireless connectivity, but the implementations differ. The Hare Works TWO PCB supports tri-mode (wired, Bluetooth, 2.4GHz), but batteries and the dongle are not included. The Zan 40 offers PCB options for wire-only or dual-mode (Bluetooth and wired), with batteries included for the wireless models.

The Zan 40 might be slightly more approachable due to its traditional staggered layout, though it still uses a split spacebar. The Alice layout on the Hare Works TWO has a more significant learning curve. Both will require adapting to layers for numbers, symbols, and navigation.

Yes. The Hare Works TWO listing specifies support for QMK and VIAL. The Zan 40 listing specifies VIAL support. This allows for extensive reprogramming of keys and layers on both keyboards.

According to the vendor, the kit includes the unibody aluminum housing, back frame, chosen backplate, PCB, aluminum plates, switch plate foam sheets, PET sheets, silicone pads, a microfiber cloth, screws, and a carrying bag. Batteries and a 2.4GHz dongle are not included.

The Zan 40 kit contents vary by PCB option. The listing states it includes an anodized aluminum housing, hot-swappable PCB, FR4 plate, screws, stabilizers, and stabilizer wires. For the dual-mode or tri-mode PCB options, lithium batteries (and a USB dongle for tri-mode) are also included.

The Hare Works TWO Alice includes more sound-dampening materials by default. Its kit contains silicone pads, switch plate foam sheets, and PET sheets, which are designed for a secure mount and improved sound profile. The Zan 40 listing does not mention any included foam or dampening materials.

No. The vendor description clearly states that batteries and the 2.4GHz dongle are not included in the base kit. To use it wirelessly, you must separately purchase two HAC-006 batteries (like those in Switch Joycons) and a dongle from the extras page.

The Zan 40 kit includes screw-in stabilizers, which are generally considered more secure and rattle-free than clip-in varieties. The Hare Works TWO listing does not specify the type of stabilizers included, focusing instead on its friction mount system and plate options.

The keyboard supports a hot-swappable PCB option, which allows for easy switch installation without soldering. It is compatible with any mechanical switch that fits the standard 3-pin or 5-pin footprint supported by the hotswap sockets. A solderable PCB option is also available.

The Hare Works TWO Alice has a fixed typing angle of 11 degrees, as listed in its specifications. This is part of its tented, ergonomic design. The Zan 40 listing does not specify a typing angle.

Still torn?

Answer a few quick questions and the keyboard finder ranks 2,000+ boards by how you will actually use yours.