Not sure which keyboard to choose? Try the Keyboard Finder now!

Head to head · Prices checked Oct 21, 2026

AULA F99 vs Keychron K4 MaxGasket Mount vs Firmware Customization

Choose the AULA F99 for its gasket-mounted typing feel and superior battery life, or the Keychron K4 Max for deep firmware customization and a confirmed high polling rate.

EPOMAKER x AULA F99

Gasket Mount

AULA F99

4.8 · 33 reviews

from$79at Epomaker

Shop nowCompare 2 stores
Keychron K4 Max QMK Wireless Mechanical Keyboard ISO Layout Collection

Firmware Customization

Keychron K4 Max

5.0 · 1 reviews

from$99at Keychron

Shop nowSee all prices

Quick verdict

Which one should you get?

Get the

AULA F99

Gasket Mount

If you want

  • Gasket mount structure with a flex-cut PCB for a softer, more responsive typing feel.
  • Large 8000mAh battery capacity for extended wireless use.
  • Includes multiple plate options (Polycarbonate and FR4) in different configurations for sound customization.

And can live with

  • Limited to linear switch options from the factory.
  • Customization is confined to the proprietary AULA DRIVER software, which only supports Windows.
  • Lacks a specified polling rate for gaming performance assessment.

Get the

Keychron K4 Max

Firmware Customization

If you want

  • Full support for QMK and VIA open-source firmware for limitless key remapping and macros.
  • Specifies a 1000 Hz polling rate in 2.4GHz and wired modes for low-latency gaming.
  • Offers a choice of linear, tactile, or clicky switch types from Keychron.

And can live with

  • Heavier weight (1290g) makes it less portable.
  • Smaller 4000mAh battery compared to the AULA F99.
  • Uses a standard PCB mount instead of a gasket mount, resulting in a firmer typing feel.

Bottom line

Your priority should guide your choice. If a specific, softer gasket-mounted typing feel, maximum wireless battery life, and a lighter build are most important, the AULA F99 is the better option. If deep firmware customization with QMK/VIA, a confirmed high polling rate for gaming, and switch variety are critical, the Keychron K4 Max is the clear winner. Both are competent pre-built keyboards, but they cater to different segments of the enthusiast market.

What actually differs

The differences that matter

Skip the 40-row spec sheet. These are the specs that change how each board feels, sounds, and fits your desk.

AULA F99

Keychron K4 Max

  • Rapid trigger

    Yes

    No

  • Battery

    8,000 mAh

    4,000 mAh

  • Case material

    ABS, PBT, Plastic

    ABS

  • Switch options

    Linear

    Clicky, Linear, Tactile

  • Mount style

    Gasket Mount

    PCB Mount

KeebFinder scores

How we score
  • AULA F99
  • Keychron K4 Max
Performance
58
82
Build quality
57
81
Productivity
87
90
Customizability
65
92
Portability
62
51

What they share

  • Layout size: 96%
  • Connection: Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired
  • Hot-swappable
  • Sound dampening
  • Keycaps: PBT
See every spec side by side

Best for

What will you mostly use it for?

The Keychron K4 Max is the stronger choice for gaming and programming due to its confirmed high polling rate and superior QMK/VIA programmability. The AULA F99 wins for travel thanks to its lighter weight and larger battery. For office use and content creation, both keyboards are equally capable, offering similar core layouts and connectivity. Modders will prefer the K4 Max for its firmware flexibility, though both offer physical hot-swap sockets.

For gaming

Pick the Keychron K4 Max

  • The Keychron K4 Max lists a 1000 Hz polling rate for its 2.4GHz and wired modes.
  • Its vendor description emphasizes low latency for competitive games.
  • The AULA F99's listing does not specify a polling rate.

From real owners

What owners say

Ratings and quotes collected from verified store reviews, including the critical ones.

AULA F99

4.8

33 owner reviews

Praise
“I am really enjoying using AULA f99! UX is 10/10 The only negative thing is the battery indicator, I find it quite confusing therefore I turned it off alltogether.”
Aleksandar V.Verified buyer· via Epomaker
Critique
“Good product - poor service. The order wasnt filed and the stock ran out. Then for the replacement item to be filled it took way too long for the order to arrive and complete a customer build.”
Geoffrey P.Verified buyer· via Epomaker

Keychron K4 Max

5.0

1 owner reviews

Full specs

AULA F99 vs Keychron K4 Max specs

Every tracked spec, side by side. Rows marked with a dot differ between the boards.

16 of 27 specs differ

AULA F99

Keychron K4 Max

Typing & switches

Switch options

Linear
Clicky, Linear, Tactile

Rapid trigger

Yes
No

Hot-swappable

Yes
Yes

Mount style

Gasket Mount
PCB Mount

Sound dampening

Yes
Yes

Screw-in stabilizers

Yes
Yes

Layout

Layout size

96%
96%

Layout standard

ANSI
ANSI, ISO

Ergonomics

Standard
Standard

Display

None
None

Media keys

No
Yes

Connectivity & battery

Connection

Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired
Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired

Max polling rate

—
1,000 Hz

Battery

8,000 mAhBetter
4,000 mAh

USB-C

Yes
No

Build & materials

Case material

ABS, PBT, Plastic
ABS

Plate material

FR4, Plastic, Polycarbonate
Steel

Keycaps

PBT
PBT

Weight

1,023 g
1,290 g

Dimensions

43 x 147 x 391 mm
31 x 391 x 140 mm

Typing angle

—
3°

Backlight

RGB, north-facing
RGB, south-facing

Firmware & software

QMK

No
Yes

VIA

No
Yes

N-key rollover

No
Yes

Mac & Windows

Yes
Yes

Extras

Released

2023
2025

Where to buy

Compare prices

Live prices from the stores we track, cheapest in-stock offer first.

Lowest price across stores, Amazon excluded.

AULA F994 stores
  • EpomakerUS

    In stock
    $79Visit
  • MechkeysCN

    In stock
    $109Visit
  • AmazonGlobal

    Check price
    Visit
  • WhatGeekCN

    Out of stock
    $89Visit
  • KeychronHK

    In stock
    $99Visit
  • AmazonGlobal

    Check price
    Visit
  • Keychron (DE)DE

    Out of stock
    $135Visit

Prices in USD are converted to your currency and can change at any time. KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.

FAQ

AULA F99 vs Keychron K4 Max: your questions

The AULA F99 has a larger 8000mAh battery, while the Keychron K4 Max has a 4000mAh battery. Based on the listed specifications, the AULA F99 should offer significantly longer usage between charges, which its vendor description also supports by claiming efficient multitasking and sustained performance.

You can use them on both, but with a potential caveat. The Keychron K4 Max has south-facing RGB LEDs, which its manufacturer states are specifically designed to be free from interference with Cherry-profile keycaps. The AULA F99 uses north-facing RGB LEDs, which can sometimes cause interference with the sculpted bottom row of certain Cherry-profile keycaps.

The Keychron K4 Max is significantly more customizable in software. It supports the open-source QMK and VIA firmware, allowing for deep, community-driven key remapping, layering, and macro programming. The AULA F99 relies on its proprietary AULA DRIVER software, which offers remapping and macros but is limited to Windows systems.

Both keyboards are designed with sound dampening. The AULA F99 features five layers of sound-improving materials, including foam and silicone. The Keychron K4 Max uses multiple layers of acoustic foams like IXPE, PET, and EPDM. Either should be suitable, but the final sound will also depend heavily on the specific switches installed.

According to its product listing, the Keychron K4 Max is available with Keychron's own linear (Super Red), tactile (Super Brown), or clicky (Super Banana) switches. The AULA F99, based on the provided data, is only listed with linear switch types.

Yes, both the AULA F99 and Keychron K4 Max explicitly list Mac and Windows support. The Keychron K4 Max includes an additional set of keycaps for macOS and has a system toggle switch, allowing it to save separate layouts for each operating system.

The main mechanical difference is the mounting style. The AULA F99 uses a gasket mount with a flex-cut PCB, which its vendor says provides a softer, more flexible, and responsive feel. The Keychron K4 Max uses a PCB mount with a steel plate, which typically offers a firmer, more direct feedback during typing.

The Keychron K4 Max has a listed advantage for gaming. Its specifications include a 1000 Hz polling rate for its 2.4GHz and wired connections, and its vendor description states this makes latency hardly noticeable in competitive games. The AULA F99's listing does not specify a polling rate.

Both the AULA F99 and the Keychron K4 Max are listed as having screw-in stabilizers. The Keychron vendor description further notes their stabilizers have reinforced sidewalls for improved stability on larger keys like the spacebar.

Yes, both the AULA F99 and Keychron K4 Max are hot-swappable. This means you can remove and install compatible 3-pin or 5-pin MX-style switches using a switch puller without any soldering required, allowing for easy customization of the typing feel.

Warranty information is not provided in the specifications for either keyboard. The AULA F99 vendor page mentions a general 1-year warranty for Epomaker keyboards, but you should confirm the specific warranty terms with the retailer or manufacturer at the time of purchase for both models.

Still torn?

Answer a few quick questions and the keyboard finder ranks 2,000+ boards by how you will actually use yours.