Not sure which keyboard to choose? Try the Keyboard Finder now!

Head to head · Prices checked Oct 21, 2026

Keychron K10 Pro vs Royal Kludge RK96Full-Size vs 96% Layout

Choose the Keychron K10 Pro for deep customization and a full layout, or the Royal Kludge RK96 for a space-saving design with a built-in USB hub.

Quick verdict

Which one should you get?

Get the

Keychron K10 Pro

Full-Size

If you want

  • Open-source QMK and VIA firmware support for deep key remapping.
  • Includes sound-absorbing foam and a silicone dampening pad in hot-swappable versions.
  • South-facing RGB lighting that avoids interference with Cherry-profile keycaps.

And can live with

  • Full-size 100% layout requires significant desk space.
  • The vendor notes that one specific non-hot-swappable version lacks sound-dampening foam and a silicone pad.
  • Relies on Bluetooth and wired connectivity, lacking a 2.4 GHz wireless dongle option.

Get the

Royal Kludge RK96

96% Layout

If you want

  • 96% layout includes a numpad in a more compact form factor than full-size.
  • Includes two built-in USB 2.0 passthrough ports and a magnetic wrist rest.
  • Offers triple-mode connectivity: Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz wireless, and wired.

And can live with

  • Software for customization is listed as being for Windows only in wired mode.
  • Uses ABS double-shot keycaps, which may develop shine over time.
  • Available only in ANSI layout, with no ISO options mentioned.

Bottom line

Select the Keychron K10 Pro if your workflow demands a full numpad, extensive key reprogramming via QMK/VIA, or a specific ISO language layout. Opt for the Royal Kludge RK96 if you need to save desk space with a 96% layout, value the convenience of built-in USB ports and a wrist rest, or prefer the reliability of a 2.4 GHz wireless dongle.

What actually differs

The differences that matter

Skip the 40-row spec sheet. These are the specs that change how each board feels, sounds, and fits your desk.

Keychron K10 Pro

Royal Kludge RK96

  • Layout size

    100%

    96%

  • Connection

    Bluetooth, Wired

    Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired

  • Battery

    4,000 mAh

    3,750 mAh

  • Case material

    ABS, Plastic, Steel

    Plastic

  • Mount style

    PCB Mount, Plate Mount, Tray Mount

    PCB Mount

KeebFinder scores

How we score
  • Keychron K10 Pro
  • Royal Kludge RK96
Performance
81
51
Build quality
89
55
Productivity
95
91
Customizability
96
78
Portability
53
54

What they share

  • Hot-swappable
  • Switch options: Clicky, Linear, Tactile
  • Sound dampening
See every spec side by side

Best for

What will you mostly use it for?

The Keychron K10 Pro is the clear choice for gaming, programming, and modding due to its performance specs and extensive software support. The Royal Kludge RK96 wins for travel with its smaller footprint and offers unique desk utility for office use with its included wrist rest and USB hub. For general office work and content creation, both keyboards are competent, making the choice more about layout preference.

For gaming

Pick the Keychron K10 Pro

  • The Keychron K10 Pro has a specified 1000 Hz polling rate for lower latency.
  • Its south-facing RGB lighting prevents interference with Cherry-profile keycaps.
  • The vendor description states its latency is non-existent for competitive gaming.

From real owners

What owners say

Ratings and quotes collected from verified store reviews, including the critical ones.

Keychron K10 Pro

4.6

14 owner reviews

Praise
“it's heavy. feels good. I didn't really look the whole inventory over, I just needed something and took a gamble. not disappointed. gonna need the expensive one now.”
VaughnVerified buyer· via Keychron
Critique
“Saturday night I logged off my Mac. Sunday afternoon I tried logging in but the keyboard would not connect over BT. Finally got it connected via USB-C. But the keys were messed up. F1-F12 were brightness, volume etc. not F1-F12 . All my customizations were…”
Webs2000· via Keychron

Royal Kludge RK96

No owner reviews collected yet.

Full specs

Keychron K10 Pro vs Royal Kludge RK96 specs

Every tracked spec, side by side. Rows marked with a dot differ between the boards.

16 of 28 specs differ

Keychron K10 Pro

Royal Kludge RK96

Typing & switches

Switch options

Clicky, Linear, Tactile
Clicky, Linear, Tactile

Hot-swappable

Yes
Yes

Mount style

PCB Mount, Plate Mount, Tray Mount
PCB Mount

Sound dampening

Yes
Yes

Screw-in stabilizers

Yes
Yes

Layout

Layout size

100%
96%

Layout standard

ANSI, ISO, ISO-DE, ISO-ES, ISO-FR, ISO-SW, ISO-UK
ANSI

Ergonomics

Standard
Standard

Knob

No
Yes

Display

None
None

Media keys

Yes
Yes

Connectivity & battery

Connection

Bluetooth, Wired
Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired

Max polling rate

1,000 Hz
—

Battery

4,000 mAhBetter
3,750 mAh

USB passthrough

No
Yes

USB-C

Yes
Yes

Build & materials

Case material

ABS, Plastic, Steel
Plastic

Plate material

Steel
—

Keycaps

ABS, PBT
ABS

Weight

1,495 g
1,500 g

Dimensions

31 x 445 x 138 mm
38 x 124 x 38 mm

Typing angle

4°, 7°
—

Backlight

RGB, south-facing
RGB

Firmware & software

QMK

Yes
No

VIA

Yes
No

N-key rollover

Yes
No

Mac & Windows

Yes
Yes

Extras

Released

2023
2022

Where to buy

Compare prices

Live prices from the stores we track, cheapest in-stock offer first.

Lowest price across stores, Amazon excluded.

  • KeychronHK

    In stock
    $79Visit
  • AmazonGlobal

    Check price
    Visit
  • MKUS

    Out of stock
    $89Visit
  • Keychron (DE)DE

    Out of stock
    $131Visit
  • Royal KludgeUS

    In stock
    $79Visit
  • MechkeysCN

    In stock
    $139Visit
  • AmazonGlobal

    Check price
    Visit

Prices in USD are converted to your currency and can change at any time. KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.

FAQ

Keychron K10 Pro vs Royal Kludge RK96: your questions

The Keychron K10 Pro is better suited for gaming. Its vendor description specifically mentions a 1000 Hz polling rate for low latency, which is advantageous for competitive play. The RK96's listing does not specify a polling rate.

Yes, but the methods and flexibility differ significantly. The K10 Pro supports the open-source QMK and VIA firmware, allowing for extensive remapping and macro creation. The RK96 uses proprietary software which, according to its vendor page, is only for Windows and requires a wired connection.

Yes. The Royal Kludge RK96 includes an ergonomic magnetic wrist rest in the box, as listed in its package contents. The Keychron K10 Pro does not include a wrist rest, but compatible silicone palm rests are sold separately.

The K10 Pro is available in both hot-swappable and non-hot-swappable versions. You must select the hot-swappable variant at purchase. The vendor notes that the 'Black - Fully Assembled' version is not hot-swappable and lacks sound-dampening foam.

The Royal Kludge RK96 has two built-in USB 2.0 passthrough ports, allowing you to connect other devices like a mouse or flash drive directly to the keyboard. The Keychron K10 Pro does not have this feature.

Yes. The Keychron K10 Pro vendor description states it is fully compatible with both Mac and Windows. It includes keycaps for macOS, with Windows keys provided as extras.

The Royal Kludge RK96 comes with ABS double-shot keycaps, according to its technical specifications. The Keychron K10 Pro hot-swappable version uses OSA profile double-shot PBT keycaps, which are generally more resistant to shine.

The Royal Kludge RK96 supports 2.4 GHz wireless via an included dongle, in addition to Bluetooth and wired modes. The Keychron K10 Pro supports Bluetooth and wired connectivity but does not offer a 2.4 GHz wireless option.

The Royal Kludge RK96 is more compact. It uses a 96% layout that integrates the numpad and navigation cluster into a tighter footprint. The Keychron K10 Pro is a full-size 100% keyboard, which is significantly wider.

The Royal Kludge RK96 vendor page states its PCB-mount stabilizers are 'well-adjusted and lubed' from the factory. The Keychron K10 Pro description mentions its K Pro switches (excluding clicky ones) are pre-lubed, but does not specify if the screw-in PCB stabilizers are pre-lubed.

The Keychron K10 Pro has a 4000mAh battery. The Royal Kludge RK96 has a slightly smaller 3750mAh battery. Actual battery life will depend on usage and lighting settings.

You can use Cherry-profile keycaps on the Keychron K10 Pro without interference, as it features south-facing RGB LEDs. The RK96's listing does not specify the LED orientation, so compatibility with Cherry-profile keycaps is not guaranteed and may cause interference.

Still torn?

Answer a few quick questions and the keyboard finder ranks 2,000+ boards by how you will actually use yours.