Not sure which keyboard to choose? Try the Keyboard Finder now!

Head to head · Prices checked Nov 7, 2026

Keychron K3 Max vs V10 MaxLow-Profile vs Alice Layout

Choose the K3 Max for portability and a slim, low-profile feel, or the V10 Max for an ergonomic Alice layout split experience with a much larger battery.

KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.

Quick verdict

Which one should you get?

Get the

Keychron K3 Max

Low-Profile

Build quality in the top 5% of 75% boards under $100.

If you want

  • Ultra-slim and lightweight at just 580g making it highly portable.
  • Comes in multiple case materials including Aluminum and Wood as stated in metadata.
  • Offers both low-profile PBT and ABS keycap options per metadata.

Rules this board out

  • Low-profile switches and keycaps only. Standard MX keycaps will not fit.
  • North-facing LEDs. Cherry-profile keycaps can hit the switch housing.

Get the

Keychron V10 Max

Alice Layout

Build quality in the top 10% of 75% boards under $150.

If you want

  • Ergonomic Alice layout specifically designed to reduce wrist strain for long typing sessions per Keychron marketing.
  • Gasket mount design with polycarbonate plate for a softer and quieter typing feel as described by Keychron.
  • Massive 4000mAh battery provides up to 190 hours of use without backlight per vendor specs.

Rules this board out

  • Magnetic switches only. Standard MX switches will not fit.
  • South-facing LEDs. Shine-through legends stay dark, and some sculpted keycaps can clip the LED.
  • No ISO layout. ISO-DE, UK, and other ISO variants are not offered.

Bottom line

Your decision rests on hand posture and travel habits. If you need a keyboard that slips into a bag for use on the go and you prefer a very thin, responsive feel, the K3 Max is the clear choice. If you prioritize a more traditional height, a split erganomic layout for reduced strain, and a massive battery for long desktop sessions, the V10 Max is the better investment for your desk.

What actually differs

The differences that matter

Skip the 40-row spec sheet. These are the specs that change how each board feels, sounds, and fits your desk.

Keychron K3 Max

Keychron V10 Max

  • Hall effect (magnetic)

    No

    Yes

    Adjustable actuation helps in games and not in normal typing

  • Battery

    1,550 mAh

    4,000 mAh

    A larger battery means fewer cables during the day

  • Low profile

    Yes

    No

  • Ergonomics

    Standard

    Alice

  • Case material

    ABS, Aluminum, Plastic, Wood

    ABS, Plastic

KeebFinder scores

How we score
  • Keychron K3 Max
  • Keychron V10 Max
Performance
81
86
Build quality
86
85
Productivity
94
100
Customizability
91
98
Portability
77
82

What they share

  • Layout size: 75%
  • Connection: Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired
  • Hot-swappable
  • Max polling rate: 1,000 Hz
  • Switch options: Clicky, Linear, Tactile
  • QMK
See every spec side by side

Best for

What will you mostly use it for?

For gaming, the K3 Max wins on portability and ultra-low latency, but the V10 Max claims the office and programming categories due to its superior ergonomic Alice layout and gasket mount typing comfort. Travel is a clear victory for the K3 Max given its dramatically lower weight and slimmer design. Modders should pick the V10 Max for its more standard switch compatibility and better upgrade path. For content creation, it ends in a tie, as both offer excellent programmability and a functional layout, leaving the choice down to personal preference between a low-profile or standard height keyboard.

For gaming

Pick the Keychron K3 Max

  • 1000 Hz polling rate on 2.4GHz and wired modes directly stated by Keychron, matching competitor latency claims.
  • Ultra-slim low-profile design with a 31% slimmer switch compared to normal profile switches allows for quicker finger movement as per Keychron marketing.
  • Includes IXPE acoustic foam and resilient latex foam for quieter keystrokes during intense sessions as stated by Keychron.
  • Offers a 2.4 GHz connection which Keychron claims delivers peak gaming performance on the fly.

From real owners

What owners say

Ratings and quotes collected from verified store reviews, including the critical ones.

Keychron K3 Max

4.1

16 owner reviews

Praise
“Noce keyboard, i appreciate the level of customization QMK provides. One thing was little disappointing - the tactile feeling comparing to K3. Other than that its very good kb!”
SergeiVerified buyer· via Keychron
Critique
“I sold my k3 pro and got this. The one I got drops connection intermittently or doesn't type or respond right away. It sounds nice, but stiff reds are not as pleasant to type on as previous keyboards reds. I really thought I ordered hotswap RGB max but seems…”
SianiVerified buyer· via Keychron

Keychron V10 Max

5.0

2 owner reviews

Praise
“- Very comfy OSA keycap profile , now my favorite one - Not hard to switch from regular layout to Alice - it took me about a week on keybr.com / monkeytype.com to get to full speed - Fully remapable keys, 5 keys under thumb finger - I've remapped left Space…”
RomanVerified buyer· via Keychron

Full specs

Keychron K3 Max vs V10 Max specs

Every tracked spec, side by side. Rows marked with a dot differ between the boards.

15 of 29 specs differ

Keychron K3 Max

Keychron V10 Max

Typing & switches

Switch options

Clicky, Linear, Tactile
Clicky, Linear, Tactile

Hall effect (magnetic)

No
Yes

Hot-swappable

Yes
Yes

Mount style

Plate Mount
Gasket Mount, Plate Mount

Low profile

Yes
No

Sound dampening

Yes
Yes

Screw-in stabilizers

Yes
Yes

Layout

Layout size

75%
75%

Layout standard

ANSI, ISO, ISO-DE, ISO-Nordic, ISO-SW, ISO-UK
ANSI

Ergonomics

Standard
Alice

Knob

No
Yes

Display

None
None

Media keys

Yes
Yes

Connectivity & battery

Connection

Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired
Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz, Wired

Max polling rate

1,000 Hz
1,000 Hz

Battery

1,550 mAh
4,000 mAhBetter

USB-C

Yes
Yes

Build & materials

Case material

ABS, Aluminum, Plastic, Wood
ABS, Plastic

Plate material

Aluminum, Plastic, Polycarbonate
Polycarbonate

Keycaps

ABS, PBT
PBT

Weight

580 g
958 g

Dimensions

22 x 306 x 116 mm
19 x 141 x 387 mm

Typing angle

3°, 7°
4°

Backlight

RGB, north-facing
RGB, south-facing

Firmware & software

QMK

Yes
Yes

VIA

Yes
Yes

N-key rollover

Yes
Yes

Mac & Windows

Yes
Yes

Extras

Released

2023
2024

For EU buyers

ISO layouts by store

Which stores sell ISO-DE, UK, and the other regional layouts.

Keychron K3 Max

  • Input Gear

    ISO-DE

    Out of stockShips to you

  • Keychron

    ISO-DE, ISO-UK, ISO-Nordic, ISO-SW

    Out of stockShips to you

  • Keychron (DE)

    ISO-DE, ISO-UK, ISO-SW

    In stockDoes not ship to you

Keychron V10 Max

No ISO layout at the stores we track.

Where to buy

Compare prices

Live prices from the stores we track, cheapest in-stock offer first.

Prices in USD are converted to your currency and can change at any time. KeebFinder may earn a commission when you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you.

Lowest price across stores, Amazon excluded.

FAQ

Keychron K3 Max vs V10 Max: your questions

The Keychron K3 Max is significantly better for travel. It weighs 580g and has an ultra-slim profile (22 mm height), making it easier to pack. In contrast, the V10 Max weighs 958g and is much bulkier, designed more as a permanent desk fixture.

The K3 Max uses low-profile Gateron switches and is a plate mount, offering a crisp and fast keypress with less travel. The V10 Max features a standard height gasket mount with a PC plate, delivering a softer, more cushioned typing experience with less resonance according to Keychron.

Yes, both the Keychron K3 Max and the Keychron V10 Max are explicitly stated to support QMK firmware and VIA software for key remapping. You can configure them using the Keychron Launcher web app on Windows, macOS, or Linux.

The V10 Max has a much larger 4000mAh battery, providing up to 190 hours of use without backlight according to its specs. The K3 Max has a smaller 1550mAh battery. If you despise charging, the V10 Max is the better choice.

The K3 Max is only compatible with Gateron or Keychron low-profile mechanical switches, as explicitly stated by the manufacturer. The V10 Max is far more standard, supporting both 3-pin and 5-pin MX style switches like Gateron, Cherry MX, and Kailh.

The V10 Max is designed specifically for this. Its Alice layout positions your hands in a more natural, ergonomic angle. Keychron markets this as reducing strain. The K3 Max is a standard linear layout in a low-profile form which may help if you like a very flat desk surface.

Only the V10 Max has a physical knob explicitly listed in its features metadata. The K3 Max’s feature list mentions multi-media keys but does not specify a knob.

The V10 Max is superior for RGB keycap compatibility. Its south-facing RGB LEDs are described by Keychron as free from interference with popular profiles like OEM and Cherry. The K3 Max has north-facing LEDs, which can cause interference with some aftermarket keycaps.

According to the metadata, the V10 Max is only listed with an ANSI layout. While the product description mentions a V1 ISO collection, it does not specify an ISO option for the V10 Max itself. The K3 Max is available in multiple ISO variants.

Both the Keychron K3 Max and V10 Max use screw-in stabilizers. The V10 Max uses standard PCB screw-in stabilizers that support third-party replacements, while the K3 Max has redesigned stabilizers which users report have a proprietary element on some keys.

Still torn?

Answer a few quick questions and the keyboard finder ranks 2,000+ boards by how you will actually use yours.